Thief Eyes

Janni Lee Simner

8708355

Taking the Icelandic myths as a jumping-off place, Simner weaves a tale of enchantment about a contemporary teen separated from her father, searching for her missing mother. Helped along the way by a raven, a fox and a shape-shifting bear, Haley braves danger to find out the truth and her way back.

I really liked the fox character and wished he had more of a role to play in her search, but he was there when it mattered.

I once wrote a historical novel. It was August in Tucson, and I was stuck in town. So I did second best. I chose a place far, far away. I set my novel in Maine in winter. At least I could mentally escape. Simnel, a fellow Tucsonan,  may have felt a similar urge to escape by choosing Iceland for her setting, far away from the desert heat.

Leave a Reply

