The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

C.S. Lewis

7806720

I think I enjoyed this book as much as an adult, as I did a teenager. This time through, I was especially taken with the character of Lucy. She is inarticulate when not believed by her siblings. She doesn’t have the vocabulary to express herself and bursts into tears at their disbelief.

I was struck by Lewis’ line when Father Christmas was handing out weapons to the boys, but denied them to the girls (except a bow and arrows for Susan), for ‘battles are ugly when women fight.’ From what I’ve read, battles are ugly no matter who is fighting.

At any case, this is an ageless story, fit for boys and girls, no matter what age they are.

2 thoughts on “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

  1. I’d love to know what it feels like to reread this as an adult — I’ve reread it so often over the years that it’s all blended into one reading. Maybe if I *don’t* read it for a decade or so then come back to it, I can experience it anew.
    I wonder if Lewis was trying to reconcile the fact that all battles are ugly with the fact that he’d made a battle necessary in his story…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

