The Year of the Unicorn

Andre Norton

30352833

I really like Andre Norton. I started reading her in high school and never stopped. I even remember the first book by her I ever read—Time Traders. I reread that recently and found it held up pretty well. Today my favorites are stories of High Hallack. They feature heroines who have agency, intelligence and courage. This book is no exception. Gillan opts for adventure over security and nearly loses her life when she trades places with a young women, one of twelve plus one promised to men who came to the aid of her country in time of war. Their bargain is women for wives in exchange for their help. Gillan sees the distress of the young women, and offers to take her place. She finds more than she bargained for in the man she she is matched with.

If I had one complaint, it would be that the book finished too soon. Since it is part of a series, I hope to meet Gillan and Herrel again.

Leave a Reply

