Cousin Kate

Georgette Heyer

8270027

I love Georgette Heyer’s Regency romances. When they first became available for Kindle for $1.99 I bought 57 of them in one swell foop. I accidentally bought one of her historical romances by mistake, but I successfully avoided her mysteries. I read my first Heyer romance in high school, and I’ve been happily reading her novels for 50+ years. This one was a little different, more Gothic than most of them, and less enjoyable. Insanity, murder, and heroines in distress do not make for a favorite story.

There was enough of the sensible heroine with an appreciative hero that I was willing to overlook the other elements that didn’t work so well for me. Altogether a satisfying read but one I won’t be reaching for any time soon.

Leave a Reply

