Faro’s Daughter

Georgette Heyer

311163

About five years ago, I made one of the best purchases. Georgette Heyer’s books became available for Kindle for $1.99 each. I don’t care for her historicals or her mysteries, but her Regency and Georgian romances are the best, so I bought 27 of them. Some titles I had already purchased for $8.99 or $9.99 so this was quite a bargain. I’ve been reading Heyer since high school and never tire of her stories. This one was new to me, and I found it delightful.

The ending was a little abrupt, with the hero clasping the heroine in his arms, and her melting all over him. She didn’t really do a good job laying a foundation for this climax, and it seemed a little rushed and too pat, but the rest of the book was good enough for me to overlook it. That being said, this is not one of my favorite Heyer romances, and it will be a long time until it gets a reread. I’m sure I’ll be rereading These Old Shades and Devil’s Cub long before this one. Still, it was nice to discover a Heyer I hadn’t read before.

Leave a Reply

