The Lords of Arcadia

R. Lee Smith

#1: The Care and Feeding of Griffins

#2: The Wizard in the Woods

#3: The Roads of Taryn MacTavish

#4: The Army of Mab

The Care and Feeding of Griffins (Lords of Arcadia Book 1) by [Smith, R. Lee]

Damn you R. Lee Smith! Is every book you write a compulsive page-turner? Lucky for me I started this series at a time when I had no commitments and could devote all my time to reading.  When I was not reading, I was thinking about getting back to the books to find out what happened next. Now that I know what happens next, I can reread the books, slowly savoring the character development and descriptions.

I have listed these books in one review because they are essentially one story, starting with Taryn’s finding a griffin egg as a child. When the egg hatches, she is at a loss to know how to care for it. Her search for knowledge eventually leads her to another world. She finds mythical creatures such as minotaurs, wizards, and centaurs, only they are fiercely protective of their land and not friendly to humans.

As she struggles to survive, protect her griffin, and learn how to survive in this strange world, she comes to a deeper understanding of herself and her place in this world.

The themes I have come to recognize in Smith’s works are all there: a heroine in an unfriendly world, beauty-and-the-beast, and the importance of sex as a means of communication.

By the end I was exhausted and sorry the story had come to an end.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s