This Is Where I Leave You

Jonathan Tropper

This Is Where I Leave You: A Novel by [Tropper, Jonathan]

This book has been turned into a motion picture, and I haven’t seen the film. Maybe it’s better than the book. The problem is that the author tries too hard to be funny.

The book takes place over the seven days that the family is sitting shiva for the dead father. Not a good setting for humor. I’ve lost some people who left a big hole in my life, and I don’t find anything funny about a family gathering to mourn a dead family member. Also  neither the main character nor anyone else matures or learns about themselves over the course of the book.

There are some funny bits, but generally this book left a bad taste in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

