A Killer’s Guide to Good Works

Shelley Costa

30375243

I confess to being hooked by the cover and the fact that one of major characters is a member of a Carmelite monastery in England. Fool that I was, I expected some realism in depiction the life of the monastery. Instead, what I got was a Dan Brown-type mystery with people running in all directions trying to foil the actions of a mysterious cult. If Netgalley hadn’t given me the book in exchange for an honest review, I would have stopped reading it early on.

I soldiered on until I finished it. It wasn’t any more realistic or believable by the end than it was at the beginning. There were a few moments of enjoyment, where Val is compelled to do her job as an editor, but they are outnumbered by the annoyance at Anthony’s lack of any real religious vocation and his complete freedom to wander around at will.

All and all a disappointment.

Leave a Reply

