The Last Hour of Gann

R. Lee Smith

18589656

If I were to summarize R. Smith’s books in one line, they would sound so preposterous no one would believe such a book, but her writing is so exceptionable that they put the lie to naysayers. In one line: a survivor of a spaceship crash falls in love with a lizard man samurai-priest-warrior. There, I told you it would sound ridiculous. It is one of the best books I ever read.

I read it for the first time in 2014. I was so immersed  in her world I read it continuously on two Kindles, switching them out when their batteries went dead. I read it until 5:30 am on a day I had a class to teach at 8:30 because I was close to finishing. I read until I fell asleep reading it.

Now for a second reading. I could take it more slowly because I knew how it ended. Well, I thought I did. What I didn’t realize was how much I missed in my hurry to finish it. Many details had escaped my notice in my hurry to finish. It was even better the second time around.

I wonder how it will be a couple of years from now when I read it again.

Leave a Reply

