The Post-Birthday World

by Lionel Shriver

The Post-Birthday World by Lionel Shriver

Because I read Kindle books I can’t read the jacket copy, and because I don’t usually read reviews I don’t spoil a book. I guess I was the only one who read this cold and was completely at sea. I read it because I love Lionel Shriver’s writing, and I kept reading even through I was thoroughly confused. One minute she would be married to Ramsey and the next chapter she was cosily sitting on the couch eating popcorn with Lawrence watching Ramsey play snooker. One chapter she won a prestigious prize for children’s literature, then in another chapter she lost to her rival. I finished the book because it was written by Lionel Shriver, but I never understood it.

Then I went to Goodreads to read the other reviews posted and found out that seemingly everyone but me had advance notice that the book was an alternative universe with Irina kissing/not kissing Ramsey on his birthday the pivotal event in her life.

I feel a book should stand on its own, and there is an indication of what it is contained in the book that Irina writes that wins/doesn’t win the children’s prize. Unfortunately it came too late to rescue the book for me.

Save

2 thoughts on “The Post-Birthday World

  1. You recommended Lionel Shriver’s We Need To Talk About Kevin and I loved it. But I got stuck very early on in The Mandibles. This book sounds very different from those two. But I like children’s books with alternative endings and so with a little warning I think this one might suit.

    Now that you know what it’s all about can you see the kiss/no kiss as pivotal?

    Like

    1. Very much so. Everything changes after that. I wish I had know what kind of book this what from the beginning. As it was. I was totally confused. I kept reading because Shriver is such a good writer. I’m reading Big Brother right now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

