The Vintage Years

The Vintage Years: Finding Your Inner Artist (Writer, Musician, Visual Artist) After Sixty

A fine young cello teacher in 2004 decided to test her curiosity about the ability of older people to learn music. After a year’s search the teacher finds her subject. In a documentary filmed to record the result of her experiment, Matty’s hands betrayed the evidence of her age. However, the rest of her body relaxed and swayed to the timeless and endless place that is music. The teacher and student both learned that old brains can do some things as well as twenty-year-old brains.

As an older learner I had my own questions about my own ability to learn. My piano teacher gave me this book to silence those demons and free me to participate freely in the learning process. I learned to let go of self-questions and rejoice in the learning process. Then progress began.

The book continues with example after example of people who took up music, or painting, or sculpture or writing, all in their 60s or older. Instead of the stagnation we expect in later years, many exhibit an ability to learn and grow, especially in the arts.

Whether you have always wanted to paint or make music, sculpt or write, this book encourages you to take it up.

2 thoughts on “The Vintage Years

  1. Thanks, Kilian! Just ordered a copy of this one.

    One of the things I’m finding on my journey of learning to play the mandolin at this point in life is that I am far more able to relax and truly enjoy it — the self-imposed pressure for musical perfection that characterized my earlier years is gone. I’m loving that sense of freedom!

    Let’s keep the joy in music!

    Like

Leave a Reply

